Member LOGIN

Awards, Prizes, and Grants

Each year, the Society for the History of Technology offers a number of awards, grants, and prizes, details on which may be obtained by clicking on the name of the appropriate item below.


Melvin Kranzberg Dissertation Fellowship: Awarded annually to a student preparing a dissertation in the history of technology, broadly defined.

Brooke Hindle Postdoctoral Fellowship: An award in support of a scholar at the beginning of his or her career.

SHOT-NASA Fellowship: A predoctoral or postdoctoral fellowship in the history of space technology.

Awards and Prizes

Leonardo da Vinci Medal: The society's highest honor, presented to an individual who has greatly contributed to the history of technology through research, teaching, publications, and other activities.

Sidney Edelstein Prize: Recognizing outstanding scholarly work in the history of technology.

Sally Hacker Prize: Established in 1999 to honor exceptional scholarship that reaches beyond the academy toward a broad audience.

Abbot Payson Usher Prize: Awarded annually to honor the best scholarly work published under the auspices of SHOT.

Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize: Awarded for the best-presented paper at the SHOT annual meeting by a scholar of any age presenting for the first time.

Samuel Eleazar and Rose Tartakow Levinson Prize: For an original essay in the history of technology that examines technology within the framework of social or intellectual history.

Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize For the best article in the history of electrotechnology—power, electronics, telecommunications, and computer science.

Dibner Award for Excellence in Museum Exhibits: Recognizing museums and exhibits that interpret the history of technology, industry, and engineering to the general public.

Eugene S. Ferguson Prize: For original reference works that support future scholarship in the history of technology.

International Scholars Program

International Scholars: To foster the international community of the history of technology and help non-U.S. historians of technology participate in the meetings and governance of SHOT.


SHOT offers some grant support for travel to the annual meeting; details are here. The special interest group WITH (Women in Technological History) also makes travel grants; Information can be found here.

Copyright 2017 Society for the History of Technology Additional contact information Website designed by Sprintout