Member LOGIN

Home> About Us> Awards > The Leonardo da Vinci Medal

The Leonardo da Vinci Medal

SHOT Leonardo da Vinci MedalThe highest recognition from the Society for the History of Technology is the Leonardo da Vinci Medal, presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the history of technology, through research, teaching, publications, and other activities. Andras Beck (formerly of the Hungarian Academy of Arts) designed the medal, the face of which shows Leonardo's head modeled after the artist's self-portrait. The reverse design shows (in the words of the sculptor) "the basic sources of energy: water, wind, and fire." The prize consists of a medal and a certificate.

SHOT invites members to nominate candidates for the DaVinci Medal. To put forward a person's name for consideration for the 2016 award, please send a letter of nomination, describing the person's outstanding contributions to the history of technology, to DaVinci Medal Committee chair Bruce Seely by December 15, 2015. (below right, 2014 Leonardo da Vinci Medal recipient Pamela O. Long, with Bruce Seely).

For more information, please contact the committee chair or David Lucsko, SHOT Secretary, shotsec@auburn.edu.

Wiebe Bijker

 

2016 da Vinci Medal Committee

David Biggs
dbiggs@ucr.edu
Aditi Raghavan
aditiraghavan@northwestern.edu
Johannes-Geert Hagmann
j.hagmann@deutsches-museum.de
Lissa Roberts
l.l.roberts@utwente.nl
David Hemmendinger
hemmendd@union.edu
Micah Rueber
micahrueber@gmail.com
Sheldon Hochheiser
sheldon.hochheiser@att.com
Bruce Seely (Chair)
bseely@mtu.edu
Edward McCaul
mccaul.1@osu.edu    
              
Dagmar Schaefer
dschaefer@mpiwg-berlin.mpg.de
David Onkst
donkst@verizon.net
Steven Walton
sawalton@mtu.edu
Gabriella Petrick
gpetrick@newhaven.edu


Recipients of the da Vinci Medal

2015 Johan Schot
2014 Pamela O. Long
2013 Rosalind H. Williams
2012 Wiebe Bijker
2011 John M. Staudenmaier
2010 Svante Lindqvist
2009 Susan J. Douglas
2008 Joel Tarr
2007 David A. Hounshell
2006 Eric H. Robinson
2005 David Nye
2004 David Landes
2003 Bart Hacker
2002 Leo Marx
2001 Robert C. Post
2000 Silvio A. Bedini
1999 no award
1998 Walter G. Vincenti
1997 Ruth Schwartz Cowan
1996 Nathan Rosenberg
1995 Bruce Sinclair
1994 Merritt Roe Smith
1993 W. David Lewis
1992 Otto Mayr
1991 Carroll W. Pursell
1990 Edwin Layton, Jr.
1989 R. Angus Buchanan
1988 Sidney M. Edelstein
1987 Robert P. Multhauf
1986 Hugh G. J. Aitken
1985 Thomas P. Hughes
1984 Brooke Hindle
1983 Louis C. Hunter
1982 no award
1981 Donald S. L. Cardwell
1980 John B. Rae
1979 John U. Nef
1978 Torsten Althin
1977 Eugene S. Ferguson
1976 Derek J. deSolla Price
1975 Friedrick Klemm
1974 Bern Dibner
1973 Carl Condit
1972 Ladislo Reti
1971 A. G. Drachmann
1970 Bertrand Gille
1969 Lewis Mumford
1968 Joseph Needham
1967 Melvin Kranzberg
1966 Cyril Stanley Smith
1965 Maurice Daumas
1964 Lynn T. White, Jr.
1963 Abbott Payson Usher
1962 R. J. Forbes

Copyright 2016 Society for the History of Technology Additional contact information Website designed by Sprintout