Member LOGIN

Home> About Us> Awards > Hacker

The Hacker Prize

The Sally Hacker Prize was established in 1999 to honor exceptional scholarship that reaches beyond the academy toward a broad audience. Any book published in the three years preceding the year of the award is eligible (for example, books eligible for the 2015 award would have been published in 2012–2014). The prize consists of a cash award and a certificate.

Publishers and authors are invited to nominate titles for this prize. To nominate a book, please send one copy to each of the committee members listed below, postmarked by 15 April for the 2015 award (15 December 2015 for the 2016 award). While each book is eligible for three years after its publication date, it must be specifically renominated in years two and/or three of eligibility in order to be reconsidered. Renomination requires that a copy of the book be sent to any new committee members, and any returning committee member who previously received the book must receive a letter renominating the book.

For more information, please contact the committee chair or David Lucsko, SHOT Secretary,




2015 Hacker Prize Committee


Joyce Bedi
Lemelson Center
NMAH Rm 1210, MRC 604
U.S. Postal Service:
P.O. Box 37012
Washington, DC 20013-7012
FedEx, UPS, etc.:
14th Street & Constitution Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20560-0604
Edward McCaul
The Ohio State University
Huanitarian Engineering Center
College of Engineering
122 Hitchcock Hall
2070 Neil Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43210
Hans Weinberger, Chair
Norsk Teknisk Museum
Kjelsåsveien 143
0491 Oslo, Norway


Recipients of the Sally Hacker Prize


2014 Eric Schlosser, Command and Control: Nuclear Weapons, the Damascus Accident, and the Illusion of Safety (New York: The Penguin Press, 2013)
2013 Regina Blaszczyk, The Color Revolution (MIT Press, 2012)
2012 Molly Berger, Hotel Dreams: Luxury, Technology, and Urban Ambition in America, 1829–1929 (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2011)
2011 James R. Fleming, Fixing the Sky: The Checkered History of Weather and Climate Control (Columbia University Press, 2010)
2010 Susanne Freidberg, Fresh: A Perishable History (Harvard University Press, 2009)
David Nye, Technology Matters: Questions to Live With (MIT, 2006)
2008 W. Bernard Carlson, Technology in World History (Oxford University Press, 2005)
2007 Mark Katz, Capturing Sound: How Technology Has Changed Music (University of California Press, 2004)
2006 Brian Hayes, Infrastructure: A Field Guide to the Industrial Landscape (W.W. Norton, 2005)
2005 David Herlihy, Bicycle: The History (Yale University Press, 2004)
2004 Rebecca Solnit, River of Shadows: Eadweard Muybridge and the Technological Wild West (Viking, 2003)
2003 Philip Ball, Bright Earth: Art and the Invention of Color (Farrar Strauss and Giroux 2002)
2002 Bella Bathurst, The Lighthouse Stevensons: The Extraordinary Story of the Building of the Scottish Lighthouses by the Ancestors of Robert Louis Stevenson (Harper Collins, 1999)
2001 David A. Mindell, War, Technology, and Experience Aboard the USS Monitor (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2000)
2000 Susan J. Douglas, Listening In: Radio and the American Imagination (Times Books 1999)
1999 Michael Riordan and Lillian Hoddeson, Crystal Fire: The Birth of the Information Age (Norton 1997)

Copyright   © 2014 Society for the History of Technology           Additional contact information     Website designed by Sprintout