Member LOGIN

Home> About Us > Travel Grants

Travel Grants

The Society for the History of Technology normally awards some grants to support travel to its annual meeting. The program is focused on graduate students, independent scholars, and young professionals just beginning their careers, as well as SHOT International Scholars. Eligible members residing outside the US, Canada, and Western Europe are especially encouraged to apply.

The travel fund was initiated by Hugh Aitken in 1988 and has been supported by individual SHOT members, royalties from two anthologies of articles from Technology and Culture, and generous contributions from the Dibner Fund. Additional funds come from the National Science Foundation.

Travel grant funds may be used only for travel expenses and basic conference registration. Grant funds may not be used for tours, the awards banquet, lodging, or meals. SHOT grants are not meant to cover the full cost of attending meetings; they are intended as encouragement, not a complete subsidy. Reimbursement normally will be made upon submission of travel receipts to the SHOT secretary after the meeting; in exceptional circumstances reimbursement may be made in advance of the meeting.

Grants may range up to $750 for travel on the same continent (for example, to Dearborn from within elsewhere in North America) and up to $1,000 for travel from a different continent. Under special circumstances, which should be explained in the application, the committee may make a larger grant for international travel. Amounts depend in part on the number of applications, and the committee may make partial awards.

Please note that HSS and 4S also award NSF grants and that you may not receive more than one travel grant in a calendar year. We regularly receive more grant requests than we can fulfill. Submitting this application does not guarantee that you will receive a grant.


SHOT's travel grants are intended to assist younger members of the field who face the most severe constraints in finding travel support. The committee considers applicants in this order of priority:

  1. Current SHOT International Scholars
  2. Graduate students
  3. Scholars from outside the United States and Canada and Western Europe who are part of the annual meeting, without regard to their academic rank or position
  4. Postdocs, independent scholars, temporary faculty, adjunct faculty, and part-time faculty (in all cases not more than five years past their terminal degree)
  5. Members of the field who are currently unemployed
  6. Retired members of the society
  7. Assistant professors not more than six years past their Ph.D.

All travel grant recipients must be participating in the meeting program in some capacity. In order of descending priority, the committee will consider whether an applicant is:

  1. Giving a paper and conducting society business, including organizing a session
  2. Giving a paper, including at a "Works-in-Progress" session
  3. Commenting at a session and doing society business
  4. Commenting at a session
  5. Moderating a session and doing society business
  6. Doing society business (serving on a committee, etc.) or moderating a session

Current SHOT International Scholars are strongly encouraged to apply for travel support even if they are not on the program.

Only current SHOT members may apply. If you are not currently a SHOT member, you may join the society or renew an expired membership. If you are unsure of your current membership status, call the Johns Hopkins University Press Journal Division at 1-800-548-1784 (U.S. and Canada only) or (410) 516-6987 (all others) or e-mail

Preference will be given to those who have not received a SHOT travel grant in the past.


Application forms are available in PDF or MS Word. E-mail applications are greatly encouraged. The completed application form should be emailed as an attachment to the SHOT secretary at with the subject heading "2014 Travel Grant Application." Alternatively, the completed form may be mailed to:

SHOT Secretary
Department of History
310 Thach Hall
Auburn University, AL
36849-5207 USA

Graduate students must also have their advisors send an e-mail to the SHOT secretary at, with the subject heading "Travel Grant Certification," certifying that the student in question is currently enrolled in a Ph.D. program.

2014 Committee on Young Scholars Travel Fund:

Gail Cooper, Chair (2013-2015)
Sabine Höhler (2012-2014)
Geoff Zylstra (2014-2016)
Hugh Gorman (ex officio)

2012 Travel Grant recipients:

Yasuhito Abe, University of Southern California
Anna Aberg, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Rupsha Banerjee, University of Bologna
Elizabeth Bruton, University of Leeds
Angelina Callahan, Georgia Tech
Peter Sachs Collopy, University of Pennsylvania
Stephanie Dick, Harvard University
Kevin Gotkin, University of Pennsylvania
Sarah Grossman, Cornell University
Matthew Hall, University of Florida
Evan Hepler-Smith, Princeton University
Tisha Hooks, Yale University
Caroline Jack, Cornell University
Brian Jirout, Georgia Tech
Ekatarina Kalemeneva, European University at St. Petersburg
Elena Kochetkova, European University at St. Petersburg
William Logan, Auburn University
Katherine McDonough, Stanford University
Annika Menke, Technische Universität Munich
John Miller, Georgia Tech
Mary Mitchell, University of Pennsylvania
Yulianto Mohsin, Cornell University
Teasel Muir-Harmon, MIT
Laine Nooney, SUNY Stonybrook
Kenzo Okuda, Independent Scholar
Giuditta Parolini, University of Bologna
Rebecca Perry, MIT
Valerie Pierce-Grove, Columbia University
Lisa Ruth Rand, University of Pennsylvania
Maxwell Rogoski, University of Pennsylvania
Rachel Rothschild, Yale University
Ekaterina Rybkina, Petrozavodsk State University
Sarah Scripps, University of South Carolina
Mark Shields, Ozyegin University
Darla Thompson, Cornell University
Peter Gustav Westin, Georgia Tech

For more information, please contact the committee chair or, the SHOT Secretary, David Lucsko,

Copyright   © 2013 Society for the History of Technology           Additional contact information     Website designed by Sprintout