☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT


March 21st, 2014

Women in Technological History (WITH)- 2014 SHOT Travel Award

WITH TRAVEL AWARD -A Call for “New Voices” in Technological History

The SHOT Special Interest Group Women in Technological History [WITH] announces its travel award for 2014. The purpose of the award is to encourage participation of “new voices” at the annual meeting of the Society for the History of Technology [SHOT]. WITH invites applications from scholars presenting topics or perspectives underrepresented in SHOT as well as fromindividuals who can contribute to the annual meeting’s geographic and cultural diversity.

The SHOT 2014 meeting will be held in Dearborn, Michigan, from November 6th to 9th. For meeting details, see:  http://www.historyoftechnology.org/annual_meeting.html.

Eligibility for the WITH Travel Awardis open to individuals who are giving a paper at the SHOT annual meeting. Priorities for the WITH award include supporting scholars or graduate students who are non-US, non-Western or who are new to SHOT, belong to a group underrepresented in SHOT, and or whose paper addresses issues of gender, race, ethnicity, and/or difference in the history of technology.

The Travel Award is designed to help defray some of the costs associated with attending the SHOT annual meeting.  Up to three awards may be offered.  Awardees will receive a check for $250, with the possibility of additional funds depending on stated need and WITH’s resources.  The winner(s) will also be honoured as our guest(s) at the annual WITH breakfast or lunch. 

To apply, please send a cover letter and brief budget outlining anticipated expenses associated with your trip to Dearborn (including any grants or funding you have already received), an abstract of your proposed paper with evidence that it has been accepted by the SHOT program committee, and a one page curriculum vitae.  All application materials should be forwarded to the chair of the award committee at pedwards@shepherd.edu.  The application deadline for the WITH Travel Award is July 5, 2014.