☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT


November 6th, 2019

Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize 2019

The Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize Committee decided to award the 2019 Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize to:

Jan Henning (University of Toronto, Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology)


Opening the Red Box: The Fire Alarm Telegraph and Technologies of Emergency Response


The committee also mentioned for honorable mention:

Sam Schirvar (University of Pennsylvania): The Last Computers: From Computer to Computer-Operator through the ENIAC Project


Vaibhav Singh (University of Reading, UK): Language, communication, technological infrastructure: South Asian printing in the machine age

Established in 1980 by Dr. Eric Robinson in memory of his wife, the prize is awarded annually for the best-delivered paper by an individual who is making his or her first appearance at the Society’s annual meeting. Candidates for the award are judged not only on the quality of the historical research and scholarship of their paper, but also on the effectiveness of the oral presentation. The Robinson Prize consists of a check and a certificate.

Discover more from Society for the History of Technology (SHOT)

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading