☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT

Awards, Prizes and Grants

Update 28 July 2020
SHOT, with reluctance, announces the postponement until 2021 of the Dibner Award, the Hacker Prize, and the Edelstein Prize — each with extended eligibility.
The Robinson Prize will not be awarded in 2020. Candidates who wanted to be considered for the Robinson Prize 2020 will still be eligible for the 2021 Robinson Prize, even when they present in one of the possible virtual sessions in October 2020 (candidates will be informed on the options by e-mail).

Each year, the Society for the History of Technology offers a number of awards, grants, and prizes, details on which may be obtained by clicking on the name of the appropriate item below.


Melvin Kranzberg Dissertation Fellowship: Awarded annually to a student preparing a dissertation in the history of technology, broadly defined.

Brooke Hindle Postdoctoral Fellowship: An award in support of a scholar at the beginning of his or her career.

NASA Fellowship: A predoctoral or postdoctoral fellowship in the history of space technology.

Awards and Prizes

Leonardo da Vinci Medal: The society’s highest honor, presented to an individual who has greatly contributed to the history of technology through research, teaching, publications, service to the Society, and other activities.

Sidney Edelstein Prize: Recognizing outstanding scholarly work in the history of technology.

Sally Hacker Prize: Established in 1999 to honor exceptional scholarship that reaches beyond the academy toward a broad audience.

Abbot Payson Usher Prize: Awarded annually to honor the best scholarly work published under the auspices of SHOT.

Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize: Awarded for the best-presented paper at the SHOT annual meeting by a scholar of any age presenting for the first time.

Samuel Eleazar and Rose Tartakow Levinson Prize: For an original essay in the history of technology that examines technology within the framework of social or intellectual history.

Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize For the best article in the history of electrotechnology—power, electronics, telecommunications, and computer science.

Dibner Award for Excellence in Museum Exhibits: Recognizing museums and exhibits that interpret the history of technology, industry, and engineering to the general public.

Eugene S. Ferguson Prize: For original reference works that support future scholarship in the history of technology.

Martha Trescott Prize: For the best published essay in the area of women in technology (even-numbered years), or in  the area of social responsibility of engineers in history (odd-numbered years).International Scholars Program.

International Scholars: To foster the international community of the history of technology and help non-U.S. historians of technology participate in the meetings and governance of SHOT.

International Small Grants

International Small Grants: SHOT welcomes endorsement requests for events that globalize the Society’s intellectual terrain as well as broaden its international membership. SHOT seeks to advance the historical study of technology and its relations with politics, economics, labor, business, the environment, public policy, science, and the arts.

The International Small Grants Program aims to foster a stronger international community for the study of the history of technology. We welcome proposals that engage with international and transnational topics of technology, as well as those who promote the growth of an international network of scholars in the history of technology.We will consider proposals from external individuals and organizations.

In 2019, the deadline for submitting proposals for funded endorsements is March 15, and should be sent by email directly to each member of the International Small Grants Committee. The 2019 Committee members include Mara Mills ([email protected]), Jenny L. Smith ([email protected]), and Honghong Tinn (chair) ([email protected]). See here for further details and to apply. See here for events SHOT has sponsored since 2017.

Travel Grants: SHOT offers some grant support for travel to the annual meeting; details are here. The special interest groups WITH (Women in Technological History) and EDITH (Exploring Diversity in Technology’s History) also offer (travel) grants; information can be found here.