☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT

Martha Trescott Prize

Updated 26 February 2024
The 2024 Martha Trescott Prize will be awarded to an outstanding published historical essay in the area of women in technology. The award will be announced at the joint ICOHTEC-SHOT Meeting in Chile.

The nomination deadline has passed, it no longer possible to nominate essays for the 2024 Martha Trescott Prize.

Martha Trescott Prize

The Martha Trescott Prize was announced in the beginning of 2020 by the Society for the History of Technology. The award consists of a $500 check and a certificate. The winner will be honored during the Society’s Awards Ceremony.

Martha Trescott was one of the pioneering spirits behind Women in Technological History (WITH). She wished to honor Frances McConnell Moore, Carroll Pursell, and Edwin T. Layton, Jr., with this prize.

The Martha Trescott Prize will be given annually for the best published essay in one of two areas. In even-numbered years (2022, 2024), the prize will be awarded to an outstanding published historical essay in the area of women in technology. In odd-numbered years (2023, 2025), the prize will be awarded to an outstanding published essay in the area of social responsibility of engineers in history.

Essays published in any of the four years preceding the award will be eligible; that is, for the 2024 prize, eligible essays will have to been published in 2020, 2021, 2022 or 2023. “Published essay” is understood to be a scholarly article, chapter in a published book, or other ‘long-form’ essay contribution. An essay can be nominated for the prize by a colleague or by the author.

To nominate an essay for the prize, please submit the nomination materials to the established prize portal on the SHOT website. A valid nomination will consist of a complete citation to the published essay, a scanned or downloaded PDF copy of the essay, and a brief 100-200 word description of its worthiness for that year’s prize.

For more information contact the SHOT secretariat at [email protected]

2024 Martha Trescott Prize Committee

Nina Lerman (2023-2025), Chair
Laura Ettinger (2022-2024)
Aileen Fyfe (2024-2026)

Recipients Martha Trescott Prize

Owain Lawson, “A National Vocation: Engineering Nature and State in Lebanon’s Merchant Republic,” Comparative Studies of South Asia, Africa, and the Middle East, vol. 40, no. 1, May 2021, p. 71–87.

Kara Swanson, “Inventing the Woman Voter:  Suffrage, Ability, and Patents,” Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era (volume 19 (2020): 559-574).

Amy Sue Bix, “Mastering the Hard Stuff: The History of College Concrete-Canoe Races and the Growth of Engineering Competition Culture.” Engineering Studies, July 2019, v. 11 (2): 109-134.

Laura Ettinger, Nicole Conroy & William Barr II, “What Late-Career and Retired Women Engineers Tell Us: Gender Challenges in Historical Context,” Engineering Studies, 11,3 (2019) 217–242; https://doi.org/10.1080/19378629.2019.1663201.