☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT

The Ferguson Prize

Eugene S. Ferguson

Eugene S. Ferguson

The Eugene S. Ferguson Prize is awarded biennially by SHOT for outstanding and original reference work that will support future scholarship in the history of technology. The Ferguson Prize recognizes work that is in the tradition of scholarly excellence established by Eugene S. Ferguson (1916-2004), SHOT’s pioneering bibliographer, a founding member of the Society (President, 1977-1978; da Vinci Medalist, 1977), museum curator and exhibit catalog author, editor, annotator, university professor, and scholar of the history of engineering and technology. The prize consists of a plaque and a cash award.

Reflecting the scope of Eugene Ferguson’s contributions to the history of technology, submissions and nominations for the following types of reference and scholarly works and tools will be considered for the Ferguson Prize:

Ferguson Prize

Ferguson Prize

Works that extend beyond the printed text, including other media, such as CDs, World Wide Web sites, and electronic data bases and tools, keeping in mind that the principal criterion of “support [of] future scholarship” for judging excellence requires that such works exhibit a degree of permanence similar to that of books.

In light of Eugene Ferguson’s noteworthy contributions to our understanding of visual thinking and visual display, nominations of works that demonstrate commitment to and achievement of nonverbal knowledge generation and transmission are especially encouraged.

Works published in the four calendar years prior to the year of the award are eligible for consideration. Publication date shall be interpreted as the year in which the work to be considered first appeared (i.e., first edition, first issuance, first availability, first uploading to the World Wide Web, etc.)

All works considered must be in English.

SHOT president Ron Kline with 2011 Ferguson Prize winners Pamela Long and David McGee--Alan Stahl, not pictured

SHOT president Ron Kline with 2011 Ferguson Prize winners Pamela Long and David McGee–Alan Stahl, not pictured

Awarded biennially, the next Ferguson Prize will be awarded in 2019.

For more information, please contact the committee chair or Jan Korsten, SHOT Secretary, [email protected].

2017 Ferguson Prize CommitteePamela O. Long, Chair (2017–2019)
[email protected]

3100 Connecticut Ave NW Apt 137
Washington, DC 20008-5100

The next Ferguson Award will next be presented in 2019.
Maria Portuondo (2018–2020)
[email protected]
Johns Hopkins
Department of History of Science and Technology
3400 N. Charles Street
Gilman Hall 301,
Baltimore, MD 21218
Guillaume de Syon (2016–2018)
[email protected]
Department of History
Franklin and Marshall College
P.O. Box 3003
Lancaster, PA 17604-3003

Previous Recipients of the Ferguson Prize

2017 Susan W. Greene, Wearable Prints, 1760-1860: History, Materials and Mechanics (The Kent State University Press, 2014)
2015 Patrick T. McBriarty, Chicago River Bridges (University of Illinois Press, 2013)
2013 David C. Brock and Christophe Lécuyer, Makers of the Microchip: A Documentary History of Fairchild Semiconductor (MIT Press and the Chemical Heritage Foundation, 2010)
2011 Pamela O. Long, David B. McGee, Alan M. Stahl, The Book of Michael of Rhodes: A Fifteenth-Century Maritime Manuscript, 3 vol. (Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press, 2009)
2009 John Peter Oleson, The Oxford Handbook of Engineering and Technology in the Classical World (Oxford University Press, 2008)
2007 The Papers of Joseph Henry, ed. Nathan Reingold (vols. 1-5) and Marc Rothenberg (vols. 6-11)
2005 James R. Hansen, ed., The Wind and Beyond: A Documentary Journey into the History of Aerodynamics in America (NASA History Series, 2004)
Special retrospective award The Papers of Thomas A. Edison (Johns Hopkins University Press)