☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT

The Hindle Fellowship

The Brooke Hindle Postdoctoral Fellowship in the History of Technology honors the contribution of Brooke Hindle to the work of the Society for the History of Technology. The Fellowship, made possible thanks to the great generosity of his family, is for $10,000 and may be used, as further detailed below, for any purpose connected with research or writing in the history of technology for a period of not less than three months during the calendar year following the award.

Applicants must hold a doctorate in the history of technology or a related field. The doctorate can be awarded no more than four years before the application deadline, and no later than nine months after the application deadline. (Applicants who graduated more than four years before the deadline but have extenuating circumstances, such as family commitments, may apply at the discretion of the committee chair.) Other awards may be held in conjunction with the Fellowship.

The proposal must be in a field related to the history of technology. Applicants should be intending either to prepare a dissertation for publication as articles or as a monograph, or to develop a new project based on primary research. Applications must be in English.

Applications must include:

It is no longer possible to submit applications for the 2020 fellowship.

Eduardo Escobar (right), winner of the Brooke Hindle Fellowship, with Tom Misa. (Photo: Bucky Stanton)

2019 Hindle Fellowship Committee

Monique Laney, Chair (2019–2021)
Hyungsub Choi  (2020-2022)
Eric Schatzberg (2018-2020)

Recipients of the Hindle Fellowship

2020 Sangwoon Yoo 2019 Joppan George
2018 Eduardo Escobar 2017 Medha Saxena
2016 Gerardo Con Diaz 2015 Serkan Karas
2014 Sorcha O”Brien 2012 Hermione Giffard
2010 Allison C. Marsh 2009 Hyungsub Choi
2008 Gabriella M. Petrick 2007 Heather Perry
2006 Sonja Schmid 2005 Ann Greene
2004 Sara B. Pritchard 2003 Anique Hommels
2002 Kathleen Franz 2001 Suzanne Moon

For more information, please contact the committee chair or Jan Korsten, SHOT Secretary, [email protected].