☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT


October 12th, 2018

SHOT Awards and Fellowships 2018

SHOT is happy to announce the Award and Fellowship winners 2018. They were presented at the Awards Banquet October 13 in St. Louis. You can download the awards booklet with all full citations here.

Leonardo da Vinci Medal
Joy Parr,
Western University Canada

Kranzberg Dissertation Fellowship
Angélica Agredo Montealegre,
King’s College London
For “Road Construction and Maintenance in the Developing World: The Cases of Colombia, Argentina, French West Africa and the Algerian Sahara, 1950s-1960s.”

Dibner Award for Excellence in Museum Exhibits
The Finnish Museum of Games, Vapriiki (Finland)

Sidney M. Edelstein Prize
Edward Jones-Imhotep
For The Unreliable Nation: Hostile Nature and Technological Failure in the Cold War (Cambridge, Mass: The MIT Press, 2017).

Brooke Hindle Post-doctoral Dissertation Fellowship
Eduardo Escobar,
Stevanovich Institute on the Formation of Knowledge, The University of Chicago
For: The Scribal Craft: Cuneiform Recipe Knowledge and the Language of Technology

Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize
Julie Cohn
For “Data, Power, and Conservation: The Early Turn to Information Technologies to Manage Energy Resources,” Information & Culture, 52 (3) (2017): 334-361 

Sally Hacker Prize
Marie Hicks (
National Humanities Center)
For Programmed Inequality: How Britain Discarded Women Technologists and Lost Its Edge in Computing (MIT Press, 2017)

NASA Fellowship in the History of Space Technology
Rebecca A. Perry
For: Filming the Future: Planetary Voyages and Computer Graphics at NASA/JPL

Abbott Payson Usher Prize
Whitney Laemmli
(Columbia University)
For A Case in Pointe: Romance and Regimentation at the New York City Ballet.”  Technology and Culture 56 (January 2015): 1-27

SHOT International Scholars 2019-2020
Jethron Ayumbah Akallah
Timpoko Hélène Kiénon-Kaboré
Liang Yao 

Discover more from Society for the History of Technology (SHOT)

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading