☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT


October 25th, 2018

Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize 2018

The Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize Committee decided to award the 2018 Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize to:

Hyeok Hweon Kang (Harvard University)

Divine Machine: Korea’s Reception of the Gun

The committee also mentioned for honorable mention Kathryn Carpenter (University of Missouri-Kansas City) for: “Cesspools,” Springs, and Snaking Pipes: The use of technology to reroute the water and the social landscape of Hot Springs National Park

Established in 1980 by Dr. Eric Robinson in memory of his wife, the prize is awarded annually for the best-delivered paper by an individual who is making his or her first appearance at the Society’s annual meeting. Candidates for the award are judged not only on the quality of the historical research and scholarship of their paper, but also on the effectiveness of the oral presentation. The Robinson Prize consists of a check and a certificate.


Discover more from Society for the History of Technology (SHOT)

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading