☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT


November 17th, 2021

SHOT Awards and Fellowships 2021

SHOT is pleased to announce the 2021 Award and Fellowship winners. The prizes will be officially announced during the Awards Ceremony Saturday 20 October at the SHOT Virtual Annual Meeting (1:30-2:00 PM CT)

Leonardo da Vinci Medal 2021

Suzanne Moon, University of Oklahoma

Please note: The 2021 and 2020 Da Vinci Medalists will give their Da Vinci Lectures on Friday 19 October (1:30-2:00 CT).

Kranzberg Dissertation Fellowship

Michelle Spektor, MIT
For ” From Documents to Data: The Emergence of National Biometric Identification Systems in the 20th and 21st Centuries”

Brooke Hindle Post-doctoral Fellowship

Hannah Zeavin, University of California, Berkeley
For “Mother’s Little Helpers: Technology in the American Family.”

NASA Fellowship in the History of Space Technology (AHA)

Benjamin Goossen, Harvard University
For “The Year of the Earth (1957-58): Cold War Science and the Making of Planetary Consciousness”

Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize

Amy Sue Bix, Iowa State University
For “‘Remember the Sabbath’: a history of technological decisions and innovation in Orthodox Jewish communities,” History and Technology, 36:2 (2020), 205-239, DOI: 10.1080/07341512.2020.1816339

Dibner Award for Excellence in Museum Exhibits

Medical Museion, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
For online exhibition: “Life Support”: https://www.museion.ku.dk/en/life-support/

Samuel Eleazar and Rose Tartakow Levinson Prize

Leah Samples, University of Pennsylvania
For “Your Eyes Are Your Breadwinners So Protect Them! Goggles, Safety Work, and the Prevention of Industrial Blindness, 1900s-1940s”

Sally Hacker Prize

Recipient 2021

Ainissa Ramirez
For The Alchemy of Us: How Humans and Matter Transformed One Another (The MIT Press 2019)

Recipient 2020

Morgan C. Ames
For The Charisma Machine: The Life, Death and Legacy of One Laptop per Child (The MIT Press 2019)

Sidney M. Edelstein Prize

Gijs Mom, Eindhoven University of Technology
For Globalizing Automobilism: Exuberance and the Emergence of Layered Mobility, 1900-1980 (New York: Berghahn Books, 2020)

Abott Payson Usher Prize

Robyn d’Avignon, New York University
For “Spirited Geobodies: Producing Subterranean Property in Nineteenth-Century Bambuk, West Africa,” Technology and Culture 61:2 Supplement (2020), S20-S48

Eugene S. Ferguson Prize

Mary Beth Meehan and Fred Turner
For Seeing Silicon Valley: Life Inside a Fraying America (University of Chicago Press), 2021
(First published in French as Visages de Silicon Valley (C&F Editions 2018))

Martha Trescott Prize

Amy Sue Bix, IOWA State University
For “Mastering the Hard Stuff: The History of College Concrete-Canoe Races and the Growth of Engineering Competition Culture.” Engineering Studies, July 2019, v. 11 (2): 109-134.

Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize

Robinson Prize recipient 2021: Hayley Brazier (University of Oregon) “Out of Sight, Out of Mind: Public Perception and the Visibility of Seafloor Technologies”

Please note that due to the Covid-19 situation, the Robinson Prize was not awarded in 2020.

Discover more from Society for the History of Technology (SHOT)

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading