☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT


November 13th, 2022

SHOT Award and Fellowship Winners 2022

SHOT is pleased to announce the 2022 Award and Fellowship winners. The prizes were officially announced during the SHOT Awards and Fellowships Event at the SHOT Annual Meeting in New Orleans (Louisiana, USA) on 12 November 2022.

You can read all citations here.

Leonardo da Vinci Medal 2022
Donald MacKenzie, University of Edinburgh

Kranzberg Dissertation Fellowship
Alfredo L. Escudero Villanueva, Florida International University
For “Surveying the Andes: Indigenous Labor, Land Inspections, and the Technologies of Spanish Colonial Rule.”

Brooke Hindle Post-doctoral Fellowship
Colette Perold, University of Colorado
For “The Empire of Informatics: IBM in Brazil Before Modern Computing.”

NASA Fellowship in the History of Space Technology (AHA)
Jorden Pitt, Texas Christian University
For “The Traumatic Blue Sky: The Psychological Consequences of Aerial Combat in the Twentieth Century.”

Sidney M. Edelstein Prize
Sarah A. Seo, Columbia Law School
For Policing the Open Road: How Cars Transformed American Freedom (Harvard University Press, 2019).

Sally Hacker Prize
Kate Crawford, University of Southern California
For Atlas of AI: Power, Politics, and the Planetary Costs of Artificial Intelligence (Yale University Press, 2021)

Abbott Payson Usher Prize
Robert MacDougall, Western University Canada
For “Sympathetic Physics: The Keely Motor and The Laws of Thermodynamics in Nineteenth Century Culture,” Technology and Culture, vol. 60 no. 2, 2019, p. 438-466.

Samuel Eleazar and Rose Tartakow Levinson Prize
Alexander Parry, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
For “Home Is Where the Harm Is: Laundry Equipment, Injuries, and the United States Voluntary Safety System, c. 1920–1980”

Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize
Diana Montaño, Washington Univirsity in St. Louis
For “Ladrones de Luz: Policing Electricity in Mexico City, 1901–1918,” Hispanic American Historical Review (2021) 101 (1): 35–72

Martha Trescott Prize
Kara Swanson, Northeastern University
For “Inventing the Woman Voter:  Suffrage, Ability, and Patents,” Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era (volume 19 (2020): 559-574).

Race and Histories of Technology Prize
Diana Madril, Arizona State University
For “Arizona’s Gila & Salt River Water Diversion and the Increased Gap Discrepancies in Agricultural Communities”.

Dibner Award for Excellence in Museum Exhibits
Science History Institute, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
For ‘’Downstream”

Discover more from Society for the History of Technology (SHOT)

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading