☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT


October 26th, 2023

SHOT Awards and Fellowships 2023


SHOT is pleased to announce the 2023 Award and Fellowship winners. The fellowships will be presented during the SHOT Awards and Fellowships Event at the SHOT Annual Meeting that takes place 26-29 October in Los Angeles (California). Citations will be published on the website after the conference. The SHOT Awards and Fellowships Event is scheduled for Saturday 28 October from 6.00 to 8.00 PM (PST).

Da Vinci Medal
Alex Roland (Duke University)

Kranzberg Fellowship
Felipe Trujillo (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile Santiago, Chile)
For his dissertation project “(Green) Revolution among Engineers. Epistemic Communities and Hydric Expertise in Cold War Chile.”

Hindle Fellowship
Fabian Prieto-Ñañez (Virginia Tech)
For “Pirates of the Caribbean Skies: Technology and Entrepreneurship in the Rise of Satellite Dishes in the Caribbean.”

NASA Fellowship (AHA Fellowship in the History of Space Technology)
Haris Durrani (Princeton University)
For his dissertation project: A Satellite for All: Law, Technology, and Empire in the Global Cold War, 1959–68.

Edelstein Prize
Stephan F. Miescher (University of California, Santa Barbara)
For A Dam for Africa: Akosombo Stories from Ghana (Indiana University Press, 2022)

Sally Hacker Prize
Alexander Monea (George Mason University)
For The Digital Closet: How the Internet Became Straight (MIT Press, 2023)

Usher Prize
Leor Halevi (Vanderbilt University)
For “What Hath Allah Wrought? The Global Invention of Prescriptive Machines for the Islamic Consumer, 1975–2010”. Technology & Culture 2021;62(3):741-779.

Levinson Prize
Tom Kelsey
(University of Oxford)
For “Fighting the Supersonic Deception: the critics of Concorde in post-war Britain.”

Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize
Edmund Russell (Carnegie Mellon University)
For “Capitalism Matters: How Financial and Technological Innovations Shaped U.S. Telegraphs, 1845–60.” Technology and Culture 63, No. 1 (January 2022), pp. 31-60.

Dibner Award
Luxembourg Centre for Contemporary and Digital History, University of Luxembourg
For the online exhibit Minett Stories: Remixing Industrial Pasts in the Digital Age

Ferguson Prize
The committee decided not to award the Ferguson Prize.

Martha Trescott Prize
Owain Lawson (University of Toronto)
For “A National Vocation: Engineering Nature and State in Lebanon’s Merchant Republic.” Comparative Studies of South Asia, Africa, and the Middle East 40, no. 1 (May 2021): 71–87.

Race and Histories of Technologies Prize
Kelcey Gibbons (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
For the unpublished essay Making Technology Black:  James C. W. Pennington, Martin R. Delany, and the Nineteenth Century Effort to Imagine a Black Future by Reframing the Past.

Discover more from Society for the History of Technology (SHOT)

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading