☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT

SHOT-NASA Fellowship

Discovery Lights Up the Night

Discovery Lights Up the Night

The NASA Fellowship in the History of Space Technology, offered by SHOT and supported by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) History Division, will, funding pending, fund one predoctoral or postdoctoral fellow for up to one academic year to undertake a research project related to the history of space technology. The fellowship may support advanced research related to all aspects of space history, leading to publications on the history of space technology broadly considered, including cultural and intellectual history, institutional history, economic history, history of law and public policy, and history of engineering and management.

The fellowship carries a stipend of $21,500, paid quarterly. Funds may not be used to support tuition or fees. The NASA Fellow will also receive complimentary SHOT membership for the year of fellowship. The Fellow will be offered opportunities to present research results at SHOT’s annual meeting, in SHOT’s newsletter, in the electronic version of Technology and Culture, through the SHOT website, or other outlets as appropriate. Fellows will carry out their research projects using personal office space, equipment, and supplies.

Applicants must possess a doctorate in history of technology or in a closely related field, or be enrolled as a student in a doctoral degree program and have completed all requirements for the Ph.D., except the dissertation, in history of technology or a related field. Eligibility is limited to U.S. citizens.

Obligations of the Recipient

  1. The recipient shall engage in research in the history of space technology for nine months, normally August-May, but within the period from 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2020.
  2. While on fellowship tenure, a fellow shall devote his/her efforts largely to the research program.
  3. The fellow shall provide to the NASA History Office a copy of any publications that emerge from the research undertaken during the fellowship year.
  4. Fellows will be expected to present at least one paper or public lecture on the findings of their research during their fellowship year.
  5. The Fellow will write a report detailing his or her activities during the year at the term’s conclusion.

Other Terms

  1. Accepting the fellowship incurs no obligations to NASA or SHOT regarding publication of research results.
  2. No commitment with regard to later employment–on the part of either the recipient of a fellowship, or SHOT, or the supporting NASA office–is implied by acceptance of an award.

Deadline, Submission Information, and Notification

Proposals will be evaluated in terms of scholarly merit and promise relative to the subject of the history of space technology, completeness, reasonableness, likelihood for successful performance, and insight. Special consideration shall be given to proposals that indicate specific methodologies and consideration of all the steps involved in preparing an academic manuscript for publication.

Effective 2017, SHOT, the History of Science Society (HSS), and the American Historical Association (AHA) are bringing their NASA Fellowship Committees together. Each society will continue to award a NASA Fellowship, but a committee consisting of one member from each organization will determine the winners of the three fellowships. For 2018-2020 Angelina Long Callahan will represent SHOT in the AHA-HSS-SHOT committee.

To Apply

The applicant must submit a completed application including a specific and detailed research proposal that will be the basis of the fellow’s research during the term.

Deadline, Submission Information, and Notification

The American Historical Association is handling the submission process. At the moment it is not possible to apply for the fellowship. Early 2020 information on the next deadline and a link to the online submission system will be posted here.



The NASA Fellowship in the History of Space Technology is designed to promote the study of the history of space technology broadly conceived, including its technical, cultural, social, institutional and personal context, over the 50 years since NASA’s founding. A significant portion of NASA’s $17 billion budget today goes for technology development in human and robotic spaceflight. Historical studies of space technology can not only document and analyze the past, but also illuminate current programs and provide input for the future. Studies of space technology are listed at the NASA History Office website http://history.nasa.gov. Among resources available are the NASA archives, with materials on history of NASA programs, institutions, and personnel. For more information, see the NASA History website at http://www.nasa.gov.

Rebecca A. Perry, recipient of the 2018 NASA Fellowship in the History of Space Technology, and SHOT president John Krige at the Awards Ceremony in St. Louis. (Photo: Bucky Stanton)

Recipients of the NASA Fellowship

2019 Dana Burton
2018 Rebecca A. Perry
2017 Alexander C.T. Geppert
2016 Michelle Grisé
2015 Lisa Ruth Rand
2014 Elizabeth A. Kessler
2013 Margaret A. Rosenburg
2011 Robert MacGregor
2010 James L. Johnson
2009 Monique Laney
2008 Timothy Stoneman

For more information, please contact the committee chair or Jan Korsten, SHOT Secretary, [email protected].