☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT



The Society for the History of Technology (SHOT) Special Interest Group (SIG) for Women in Technological History (WITH) announces its conference grant for 2021. Designed to defray some costs associated with attending the SHOT Annual Meeting (such as lodging, meals, childcare, and other incidental expenses), the grant is open to individuals giving a paper at the 2021 conference in New Orleans, whether in person or online. The reviewing committee prioritizes both work by women-identified scholars and feminist scholarship that addresses the presence, actions, activism, and analysis of women and gender in the History of Technology. Scholars who are new to SHOT and graduate students are particularly encouraged to apply.

Awardees typically receive a check for $250 with the possibility of additional funds depending on stated need and WITH’s resources. Winners will be recognized in New Orleans at the joint breakfast of WITH and the HSS Women’s Caucus.

To apply, please send 1) a cover letter that incorporates a brief abstract and explains how your application fulfills the grant criteria, a brief budget of anticipated expenses associated with your trip to New Orleans or your virtual participation, and a list of any other grants or funding that may offset these expenses, 2) evidence that your paper has been accepted by the SHOT program committee, and 3) a one page curriculum vitae. All application materials should be forwarded to [email protected]. The application deadline for the WITH Conference Grant is August 31, 2021.

Scholars with higher travel expenses may be able to piece together funds from the WITH Conference Grant with a SHOT Travel Grant or conference grants offered by other Society SIGS and should feel free to apply for multiple applicable grants. For more information on SHOT Travel Grants and SIG conference grants, please see: https://www.historyoftechnology.org/about-us/travel-grants/. For SIG information and contacts, please see: https://www.historyoftechnology.org/special-interest-groups/.

Committee Members:

Julie Cohn, University of Houston
Whitney Laemmli, Carnegie-Mellon University
Alan Meyer, Auburn University
Corinna Schlombs, Rochester Institute of Technology