☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT

SHOT 2020 Virtual Forum,  8-11 October, 2020

Updated 11 October 2020

Use Twitter Hashtag #shotVF20

We hope you enjoyed the SHOT 2020 Virtual Forum. Thanks for your contributions to the various panels, your positive feedback, and useful ideas for future meetings. Thanks for participating in our first virtual conference. In total 864 people registered for the joint HSS-SHOT conference, of which 320 selected SHOT. Hopefully we succeeded in creating a welcoming SHOT atmosphere for all of you!

This year’s inspiring program was the result of the hard work of our Program Committee. On behalf of SHOT, I want to thank committee members Yulia Frumer (committee chair), Cyrus Mody, and Joseph November for putting together the program in these challenging times. The meeting program is also the result of the close collaboration with the HSS Program Committee, so we would like to thank them as well for their hard work.

I also want to thank Tom Misa, Amy Bix, Arwen Mohun, Sonja Beekers, Jeroen Carbaat, Henk Treur, and our student hosts, for their assistance in organizing this virtual meeting. Finally, I want to thank Jay Malone and Ryan Feigenbaum of HSS. We enjoyed working with our HSS colleagues.

You will be able to access the conference platform in the coming weeks to watch recorded sessions, and to visit the Book Gallery and the HSS Authors’ Pitches.

We look forward to seeing you next year in New Orleans. Meeting dates are 16-21 November 2021.

Until then, stay safe and healthy!

Jan Korsten, SHOT Secretary


You can find the full programs of both SHOT and HSS on the Virtual Conference Platform. For a downloadable PDF version of the SHOT 2020 Virtual Forum Program click the following link: SHOT 2020 Virtual Forum: PDF Version Program

Saturday 10 October: SHOT Awards Ceremony

We congratulate the winners of the 2020 SHOT Awards and Fellowships:

You can find all citations here.

The Samuel Eleazar and Rose Tartakow Levinson Prize was not awarded.

Please note that due to the Covid-19 situation the Edelstein Prize, the Sally Hacker Prize, and the Dibner Award have been postponed until 2021. Also, the Robinson Prize will not be awarded in 2020. The next bi-annual Ferguson Prize will be awarded in 2021.

Get the most out of the Virtual Forum

Make sure to explore the Book Gallery, the History of Science and Technology (HOST) Hub, the Chat, and the HSS Authors’ Pitches and get the most out of the Virtual Forum.

Book Gallery

Our digital book gallery attempts to recreate the book-browsing experience for our Virtual Forum. Find the latest titles in the history of science & technology, with discounts to boot.
Visit the Book Gallery


In the History of Science and Technology (HOST) Hub, find details about presses, fellowships, the HSS editorial office, interest groups, and more. Visit the HOST Hub


The Virtual Forum platform offers attendees, organizations, and exhibitors the opportunity to network in the Chat Lounge. (Click “Chat” in the navbar.) Join or create a topic, start a video call, or browse the attendee directory!  Enter the Chat

HSS Authors’ Pitches

At a time when in-person interaction and exchange is limited, the Authors’ Book Pitch provides a platform to share new and exciting scholarship. Feel free to browse through our videos and learn about the newest releases, directly from the source! Visit the HSS Authors’ Pitches


You can still register for the SHOT 2020 Virtual Forum!


Registration will be processed via the OpenWater conference platform. The registration process should be straight forward.  After registration you will receive an e-mail with instructions how to log in to the virtual meeting website. The SHOT Virtual Forum is co-hosted with HSS. Registration includes access to both the SHOT and the HSS conference program. The program of HSS can be found here. For fees and available participation grants see below.

Practical Information

How to access the Virtual Conference Platform

Please go to the home page, https://hss-shot.secure-platform.com/a/

Click “Login with HSS-SHOT”

In the next popup screen enter the e-mail address you registered with and click “sign in”:

Click the link in the e-mail to access the virtual conference platform.

When you now go to the home page you will find that there is a message on the left side of the page saying “Welcome” and at the bottom of this box you find a “logout” option.

You can now access all sessions. Please note that you cannot “enter” a session until the session is actually live, but you can view the pre-recorded presentations before the meeting. Please note that not all sessions have pre-recorded presentations!

In case you experience any problems during registration or afterwards,  please contact the SHOT Secretariat at [email protected].

Guide for Presenters

Presenters, Chairs, and Commentators: In preparation for the event, please review the Guide for Presenters.

Registration fees

Please note that registration includes access to all SHOT and HSS programs and provides closed captioning service and other features to enhance accessibility.

For the SHOT 2020 Virtual Forum the Terms and Conditions SHOT 2020 Virtual Forum apply. You can find these here.

Participation grants

To offset the cost of registration for the SHOT 2020 Virtual Forum, NSF and SHOT Participation Grants are available for graduate students, recent PhDs (received within the previous five years), and independent scholars. Please note that funding is limited. Grants will be paid as reimbursements after the event. More information and links to the application forms can be found here.

Online platform

The HSS/SHOT 2020 Virtual Forum will be held on the OpenWater video conferencing system, which uses Zoom. We will provide closed captioning service and other features to enhance accessibility. Further information will be provided on the SHOT website and on the registration page in the OpenWater system.

We can offer you a basic Zoom training, in this 30 minute on demand training you will find information about how to become a room moderator, to train speakers, as well as successfully pre-record and replay presentations.

Virtual Book Exhibit

You can visit the Virtual Book Exhibit at the OpenWater conference platform. We will post special offers of publishers on the SHOT conference page and in our News Updates as well.

Frequently Asked Questions

Please find a list with frequently asked questions here.


The SHOT 2020 Virtual Forum is supported by: