☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT


March 2nd, 2020

New annual prize: Martha Trescott Prize

The Society for the History of Technology announces a new annual prize beginning 2020. The inaugural award will consist of a $500 check and a certificate. The winner will be honored at the Society’s awards banquet. Martha Trescott was one of the pioneering spirits behind Women in Technological History (WITH). She wished to honor Frances…

Read More

January 17th, 2020

Call for Proposals ICOHTEC Symposium Prague 2021

The International Committee for the History of Technology’s 48th Symposium in Prague, 25 – 31 July 2021 *NEW extended deadline for proposals is 10 February 2020* The International Committee for the History of Technology (ICOHTEC) will hold its 48th symposium as part of the 26th International Congress of the History of Science and Technology (ICHST) in…

Read More

January 7th, 2020

Call for Proposals SHOT Annual Meeting New Orleans (7-11 October 2020)

Annual Meeting Society for the History of Technology (SHOT): New Orleans, 7-11 October, 2020 – Call for Proposals CfP New Orleans 2020-version 1 Dear Colleagues, The SHOT Program Committee is pleased to issue the Call for Papers and Sessions for the SHOT 2020 Annual Meeting to be held 7-11 October, 2020 in New Orleans. The…

Read More

December 1st, 2019

Ruth Oldenziel is the new Editor-in-Chief of Technology & Culture

The Society for the History of Technology is happy to announce the appointment of Ruth Oldenziel as the new Editor-in-Chief of Technology & Culture! Ruth will be Technology & Culture’s seventh editor in the society’s 61-year history. Ruth Oldenziel is a Professor in the History of Technology at Eindhoven University of Technology. She received her…

Read More

November 6th, 2019

Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize 2019

The Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize Committee decided to award the 2019 Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize to: Jan Henning (University of Toronto, Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology) For: Opening the Red Box: The Fire Alarm Telegraph and Technologies of Emergency Response   The committee also mentioned for honorable mention: Sam Schirvar…

Read More

October 29th, 2019

Society for the History of Technology Award and Fellowship Winners 2019

SHOT is pleased to announce the 2019 Award and Fellowship winners. The prizes were officially announced at the Awards Banquet at the SHOT Annual Meeting in Milan (Italy) on Saturday 26 October 2019.  available.You can download the program booklet here. Leonardo da Vinci Medal: Francesca Bray (The University of Edinburgh) Kranzberg Dissertation Fellowship: Samaa Elimam,…

Read More

August 19th, 2019

SHOT-Elections 2019

Vote online until September 30 2019 via the ONLINE BALLOT. This year’s ballot includes candidates for the Executive Council, Secretary, Nominating Committee, and Editorial Committee. Only SHOT members are allowed to vote. Executive Council: The Executive Council is SHOT’s governing board and works with the Society’s officers to plan and set policy. Members of the…

Read More

July 17th, 2019

Symposium April 23-25 2020: American Contact – Intercultural Encounter and the History of the Book

April 23-25, 2020 Princeton UniversityUniversity of Pennsylvania Project organizers:Rhae Lynn Barnes (Princeton University, History)Glenda Goodman (University of Pennsylvania, Music) American Contact is a multi-disciplinary symposium that invites scholars to discuss the use of material texts in cross-cltural encounters in the Americas. We seek to explore how texts—broadly defined to include not only books but textual…

Read More

July 16th, 2019

National Humanities Center Residential Fellowships 2020-21 Call for Applications

The National Humanities Center invites applications for academic-year or one-semester residential fellowships. Mid-career, senior, and emerging scholars with a strong record of peer-reviewed work from all areas of the humanities are encouraged to apply. Scholars from all parts of the globe are eligible; stipends and travel expenses are provided. Fellowship applicants must have a PhD…

Read More