☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT


April 23rd, 2020

Technology & Culture and Project Muse

Until 31 May 2020, JHUP has made the entire run of T&C freely available. But such “free” access has a downside. Whenever anyone accesses T&C through the normal channels of Project Muse, SHOT gets a small amount of revenue, which adds up to a very useful boost for our annual budget. The temporary “free” access…

Read More

April 2nd, 2020

Message from SHOT President Tom Misa

Dear SHOT members, In times like these, we are called on to figure out “what is ours to do in the world.” Some of our communities need field hospitals and mass mobilization for required resources; others need reminders that while “the economy has stopped,” our communities are very much alive and, often, adapting in creative…

Read More

March 2nd, 2020

SHOT Awards and Fellowships – 2020 deadlines

It is now possible to nominate candidates for several SHOT Awards and Fellowships: Melvin Kranzberg Dissertation Fellowship Awarded annually to a student preparing a dissertation in the history of technology, broadly defined. Deadline for nominations 15 April 2020. Find all information on the Kranzberg Fellowship here. Brooke Hindle Postdoctoral Fellowship An award in support of…

Read More

March 2nd, 2020

New annual prize: Martha Trescott Prize

The Society for the History of Technology announces a new annual prize beginning 2020. The inaugural award will consist of a $500 check and a certificate. The winner will be honored at the Society’s awards banquet. Martha Trescott was one of the pioneering spirits behind Women in Technological History (WITH). She wished to honor Frances…

Read More

January 17th, 2020

Call for Proposals ICOHTEC Symposium Prague 2021

The International Committee for the History of Technology’s 48th Symposium in Prague, 25 – 31 July 2021 *NEW extended deadline for proposals is 10 February 2020* The International Committee for the History of Technology (ICOHTEC) will hold its 48th symposium as part of the 26th International Congress of the History of Science and Technology (ICHST) in…

Read More

January 7th, 2020

Call for Proposals SHOT Annual Meeting New Orleans (7-11 October 2020)

Annual Meeting Society for the History of Technology (SHOT): New Orleans, 7-11 October, 2020 – Call for Proposals CfP New Orleans 2020-version 1 Dear Colleagues, The SHOT Program Committee is pleased to issue the Call for Papers and Sessions for the SHOT 2020 Annual Meeting to be held 7-11 October, 2020 in New Orleans. The…

Read More

December 1st, 2019

Ruth Oldenziel is the new Editor-in-Chief of Technology & Culture

The Society for the History of Technology is happy to announce the appointment of Ruth Oldenziel as the new Editor-in-Chief of Technology & Culture! Ruth will be Technology & Culture’s seventh editor in the society’s 61-year history. Ruth Oldenziel is a Professor in the History of Technology at Eindhoven University of Technology. She received her…

Read More

November 6th, 2019

Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize 2019

The Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize Committee decided to award the 2019 Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize to: Jan Henning (University of Toronto, Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology) For: Opening the Red Box: The Fire Alarm Telegraph and Technologies of Emergency Response   The committee also mentioned for honorable mention: Sam Schirvar…

Read More